Innovative Forms of Life

Globalisation, structural change and demographic change seriously affect our living environment. These changes effect, among other things, the shrinking number of numerous cities and regions, accompanied by an even economic contraction process that also strains the labour market, business and local budget. Well-functioning mechanisms fall apart.

Shrinking cities, desolate landscapes and vacancy rates in many city districts characterise the image in many places.

How to deal with these changes is not only an architectural or structural issue, but also a social, economical and creative. In a society that is geared for growth, processes that cause reduction and deconstruction are perceived as loss and crisis. But the shrinkage also opens up new design possibilities, supports creativity and awakens ideally a optimistic atmosphere of departure: Off of growth thinking to a different way of dealing with the living environment and a new understanding of living, working and life.

First and foremost, this is an ideal process in which ILI can act as an interdisciplinary ‘Thinktank’ and catalyst. We develop innovative concepts that drive a sustainable development of cities and districts, communities and regions – always directed towards the special situation and the needs of residents and local stakeholder.

To solve complex issues and to develop new approaches we use – preferably under consideration of all parties involved – the ‘Theory U’ to uncover and use future projections. Like that, collaborative models can be developed that are designed from a future perspective and that ensure a sustainable development, which can also be used as a positioning tool for cities, municipalities and regions. Altogether, ILI relies on participation and cross-linking of local stakeholders and relevant social groups, also to identify and integrate divergent interests at an early stage – a criterion of social sustainability by itself.

Innovative LebensFormen

Globalisierung, Strukturwandel und demografischer Wandel beeinflussen gravierend unsere Lebensumwelt. Die Veränderungen bewirken unter anderem das Schrumpfen zahlreicher Städte und Regionen, begleitet von einem auch ökonomischen Schrumpfungsprozess, der Arbeitsmarkt, Wirtschaft und kommunale Haushalte belastet. Gut funktionierende Regelmechanismen geraten aus dem Lot.

Schrumpfende Städte, verödete Landschaften und Leerstände in ganzen Stadtvierteln prägen vielerorts das Bild.

Wie man diesen Veränderungen begegnet, ist nicht nur eine bauliche beziehungsweise rückbauliche Frage, sondern auch eine soziale, ökonomische und gestalterische. Denn in einer Gesellschaft, die auf Wachstum ausgelegt ist, werden Prozesse, die Ab- und Rückbau zur Folge haben, zunächst als Verlust und Krise wahrgenommen. Aber das Schrumpfen eröffnet auch neue Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten, fördert Kreativität und weckt im Idealfall eine optimistische Aufbruchstimmung: Weg vom Wachstumsdenken hin zu einem anderen Umgang mit der Lebensumwelt und einem neuen Verständnis von Wohnen, Arbeiten und Leben.

In erster Linie ist das ein ideeller Prozess, bei dem ILI als interdisziplinärer „Thinktank“ und Katalysator fungieren kann. Wir erarbeiten innovative Konzepte, die eine zukunftsfähige und nachhaltige Entwicklung von Städten und Stadtvierteln, Gemeinden und Regionen vorantreiben – stets ausgerichtet auf die besondere Situation und den Bedürfnissen von Bewohnern und örtlichen Akteuren.

Zur Lösung komplexer Fragen und zur Entwicklung neuer Ansätze nutzen wir – möglichst unter Einbeziehen der Betroffenen – die Theorie U, um Zukunftsprojektionen aufzudecken und zu nutzen. So lassen sich gemeinschaftlich Leitbilder entwickeln, die von der Zukunft her gedacht sind und eine nachhaltige Entwicklung sicherstellen sowie als Positionierungsinstrument für Städte, Gemeinden und Regionen nutzbar sind. Insgesamt setzt ILI dabei auf Partizipation und die Vernetzung lokaler Akteure und relevanter gesellschaftlicher Gruppen, auch um divergierende Interessen frühzeitig zu erkennen und zu integrieren – ein Kriterium sozialer Nachhaltigkeit an sich.